Bottled Ales – December 2013 Pt 1

20131005_181921

(Tonight, tonight…….)

“I like your nerve, I like watching you.

But I don’t watch what I drink, got better things to do”

(“Definitive Gaze” – Magazine)

Been struggling to write recently, with the black dog growling, putting finger to keyboard takes a hell of an effort. But, whilst making a curry this afternoon, I started to listen to an album I haven’t played for nearly 3 years “Real Life & The Hereafter” a retrospective album commemorating the reformation (however temporary) of the greatest of all the bands of the era labelled “post-punk”, Magazine. Just get on Spotify and listen to the album “Real Life”, then tweet me and say “thanks”! I heard the above track….and strode to the keyboard!

One of the things that has kept a smile on my face has been the never-ending surprise I get every time I meet somebody involved in the business of either brewing or retailing micro brewery beers. Such nice and friendly people. One recently was Dan (I didn’t catch his surname) who is looking to open a Micro Pub/Bar in the refurbished Bolton Market. Had a chat with him at the stall (now) at Urban Market (Located on the site of the old Victoria Bus Station) run by another decent fella Damian O’Shea (aka The Ale Man) and am excited by his plans for the unit – will be great to have a decent local beer selection in Bolton!

Anyway….to the business at hand….

If you have ever read one of these before, you will know what is comes next!……The format remains….

1. The Beer, 2. The Brewer, 3. The Strength, 4. The beer style, 5. The Price & Size (including discount, eg: for CAMRA membership, where applicable – if I can remember the price of course!). 6. Where from,  and, If a website for the vendor exists, the hyperlink to the shop / brewer website, just in case you are inspired enough by my ramblings to make a purchase! Here goes…

IMAG0371

1. Black JesusGreat Heck Brewery (Great Heck, E Yorkshire) – 6.5% abv – Black IPA – £2.25 (330ml) (10% disc for 12 btls) – The Liquor Shop (Whitefield, N Manchester)

Was a HUGE surprise to find this beer at Raj’s shop! Possibly the only stockist of this particular brewery’s beers in (certainly) Greater Manchester. This is the third beer that they have bottled with two more planned. The first two (Yakima IPA & Amish Mash) were both delicious, so I had high hopes for this (especially having heard some good reports about it on draught!

A black beer with a tan head and a sharp yet deep complex aroma with both citrus grapefruit and a touch of licorice! Mmmm…. Nice and full-bodied, almost creamy, in the mouth, the first flavour to hit was the grapefruit, swiftly followed with a piney hit and a good degree of bitterness then came the more earthy notes with a healthy dose of licorice. A 330 ml bottle doesn’t do this beer justice. Some commentators describe a Black IPA as a Stout with hops. This particular beer is as close to a mash-up of Stout and IPA as I’ve tasted. It’s bloody gorgeous!

IMAG0346

2. MoonrakerJ W Lees (Middleton, N Manchester) – 6.5% abv – Strong Ale – £1.25 (4 for £5) (500ml) – ASDA stores everywhere!

A couple of weeks ago, my good friend Col popped around for a beer or two and we had a little tasting session, this was one of the beers that he brought round that we didn’t get the chance to taste.

A really deep ruby beer, if you don’t hold it up to the light it appears totally black. A really lovely creamy head on this when poured, it had a deep vine fruit aroma with a nose wrinkling touch of spice. Full bodied, initially sweet with chocolate then raisins with some barley sugar sweets (remember them?) then some spiciness. The initial sweetness gradually gave way to a building dryness with a gentle bitterness with some licorice in the aftertaste. A really nice winter warmer, just need a pub with a fireplace!

I haven’t, historically, drunk an awful lot of Moonraker, but I do remember that it was a stronger beer than this, I certainly recall it being at 7.5% at one point. This is a really nice beer (and an utter steal at the offer price!), but I do wish that breweries would leave well alone with their recipes. There are a number of beers that have reduced strength over the years (in one format or another) and beer drinkers do notice these things. That said, a good source tells me that Lees’ annual winter brew “Harvest Ale” is one to look out for, I’m looking!

1385418435776

3. Stormy PointCheshire Brewhouse (Congleton, Cheshire) (Collab with @PDTNC aka Ade from Saltaire Brewery) – 6.7% abv – Dark IPA – £3 (500ml) – The Ale Man (Urban Market, Manchester)

Picked this up on my recent visit (mentioned above) to see Damian O’Shea at a rather chilly Urban Market event at the old Victoria Bus Station. Unfortunately quiet when I turned up, some excellent long stall there, not the least of which was Damian’s usual excellent selection of superb beers. He had a few from Shane Swindells’ Cheshire Brewhouse (including a few gift sets), so I snaffled a bottle or two.

I had this on cask at the recent Boothstown Beer Festival. It was the best beer I had by a distance combining the earthyness of a dark, with the citrus of a big IPA. I’m yet to have anything less than excellent from this brewery, so I was looking forward to this, whilst stemming the drool!

Darkest ruby with a lovely sexy ruddy glow to it, a nice tan head releasing fruity aromas of sweet mango & tart grapefruit. Full bodied and almost creamy in the mouth, earthy yet citrussy. Fruity with mango to the fore but earthy with hints of coffee and licorice. A Kalahari dry finish with lots of resinous pine in the aftertaste, For a 6.7% beer, I could drink this all day. OK. I’d probably fall over, but I’d have a lovely time getting there!

IMAG0376

4. Red Rose Rye – Quantum Brewing Company (Stockport, Gtr Manchester) – 5.7% abv – Red Rye Ale – £3.69 (500ml) –  The Liquor Shop (Whitefield, N Manchester)

This beer was brewed in collaboration with Manchester Homebrewers at Jay’s Hempshaw Lane beery Fantasia. If the homebrewers are some of the guys I’ve met at Privateer & Port St, they’re a cracking bunch of fellas and certainly know their hops from their barley!

This was a lively wee beast! Deep red with an abundant white foamy head, with a perplexing yet really enticing aroma, really fruity but with an additional quite subtle perfumed floral note that I couldn’t quite pick but that reminded me (slightly) of Parma Violets (Do they still make them? My flavour memory bank is going back 40 years there!)

Ooh! What a full flavoured and full-bodied beer! Fruity and spicy with that rye adding its spicy notes, really bitter and dry too. Again that elusive floral note came through in the flavour. Quite complex in the flavours (NO surprise with 5 hops and 6 malts!) and I struggled to pick individual characteristics out, but this was just a magnificaent (Latin for Magnificent!) beer that I hope Jay brews again. If he does, get on it!

IMAG0390

5. Bondi Blues – Cheshire Brewhouse (Congleton, Cheshire) – 6.3% abv – (Antipodean) IPA – £3 (500ml) – The Ale Man (Urban Market, Manchester)

Another one picked up on my recent visit to Damian O’Sheas’ excellent market stall (should be one on this weekend!) A limited edition of 500 bottles this, I’m not posting this so you can pointlessly drool, more in the hope that Shane will brew it again soon!

A hazy amber beer with a lacey white head and a BIG hoppy nose! Full bodied and big and fruity in the mouth with a cheesecake biscuit base flattened with citrussy mango and orange marmalade, a hint of pineapple sweetness and a big piney afternote. Surprised me as I started to warm as it went down! The finish was bitter and dry with nice resinous pine lasting well into the aftertaste. Another Congleton cracker, C’mon Shane, brew it again!

IMAG0397

6. Nelson Sauvin – Mallinsons Brewery (Huddersfield, West Yorkshire) – 3.9% abv – (Single hopped) Pale Ale – £2.29 (500ml) – The Liquor Shop (Whitefield, N Manchester)

Is there anything that I haven’t previously said about the single-hopped Pale Ales made at this Huddersfield brewery? Should I even bother to mention the near beergasm that I had when I smelled this in the glass? Ah go on then…..

Straw coloured pale beer with a white head and a booming aroma of grapefruit and sharp lemon (drool now!). Medium-bodied, this has a light Malted Milk biscuit sweetness more than matched by a fabulous grapefruit tartness. The sharp grapefruit leads to a lovely bitter finish with a resinous aftertaste that goes on and on and on…..zzzzzzz. You get the picture?

I’ll spare you the lyrical waxing by just saying WOW! The shame is, that there isn’t much of this left at The Liquor Shop. Give Raj a shout on Twitter, but if out of luck, pop over to http://www.yorkshireales.co.uk where they seem to still have some! Also, Beermoth on Tib Street usually have a good range of Mallinsons, more than worth a look if you’re in the city centre!

NB : For all you beer loving, local sourcing Mancs, Raj (@LiquorShopUK) has a Manchester Beer Box case of 12 local micro brewery ales for £26.99. Get in!

________________

With that, I need to address my Beers of the Month for November! Fairly straightforward these two!

IMAG0260

Draught Guero by Five Towns Brewery of Wakefield. A 2.9% abv Pale Ale just bursting with hoppy goodness and grapefruit tartness. A stunningly good example of how great a low abv beer can taste! Thanks to Nigel of The Hare & Hounds in Hindley (simply a great local pub!) and David Mayhall from Allgates for alerting me to its presence!

1385154743252

Bottle Manifesto by Revolutions Brewing of Castleford – See here for the reasons why! The best bottled beer I have had so far in 2013.

With that, It’s time to move on to pastures new….y’all come back now!

On that note….’til next time….

Slainte!

Leave a Reply

