Bottled Ales – December 2013 Pt 2

IMAG0423

(Coming soon to a throat near….er…me!)

“We all know you are soft ‘cos we’ve all seen you dancing,

We all know you are hard ‘cos we all saw you drinking from noon until noon again,

You’re the boy with the filthy laugh, you’re the boy with the Arab Strap”

(“The Boy With The Arab Strap” – Belle & Sebastian)

Remember the Channel 4 series “Teachers”, if you do, The Boy With The Arab Strap was the theme tune. Surely one of the greatest Indie tracks of the last 20 years with some absolute killer lines, including the best fade out lines I’ve ever heard!*

Austerity is beginning to bite hard on the BM Millions (or lack of) so I have barely ventured forth across the moat into the big wide world of draught beer. My thoughts have been mostly taken up with an idea floated by my friend Gerry….to set up a small beer festival! This being to raise funds to help a local Community Centre in Salford which is run by Gerry herself.

There are distinct ups and downs to this proposition. Ups? The tweets of support and offers both of help and of beer supply from the good brewers (and drinkers) of Greater Manchester and beyond. As I’ve said previously, the good nature of people in the local beer world is to be marvelled at and I, for one, have really appreciated every tweet and message I have received! Downs? The mere thought of the WORD “logistics” is enough to bring me out in a cold sweat!

The general idea will be to feature beers from the North, Lancashire, Gtr Manchester and Yorkshire. Micros Only. In the New Year, I’ll be spreading my beery tentacles and tapping the “Great & the Good” on the shoulders for advice. Don’t be surprised when it happens to you!

Back to the matter at hand eh? As usual, the good and the indifferent have passed my lips this month, but, if you’ve read this before, I only try to highlight the truly good for your pleasure! A bit like a beery Santa’s list (but 2 or 3 times per month!)

If you have ever read one of these before, you will know what is comes next!……The format remains….

1. The Beer, 2. The Brewer, 3. The Strength, 4. The beer style, 5. The Price & Size (including discount, eg: for CAMRA membership, where applicable – if I can remember the price of course!). 6. Where from,  and, If a website for the vendor exists, the hyperlink to the shop / brewer website, just in case you are inspired enough by my ramblings to make a purchase! Here goes…

IMAG0396

1. Natural ProgressionWilson Potter Brewery (Middleton, Gtr Manchester) – 4.8% abv – Strong Bitter (?) – £2.23 (3 for £7 – 500ml) – Direct from the Brewery

There’s not an awful lot that I can say more about these excellent brewers (I hate the term “Brewsters”!), they just make excellent tasty beers, continue to do so and finally seem to be getting a little traction in Manchester City Centre. Much deserved. And, if the mighty Tandleman likes them, then who am I to argue?

I picked this up on a recent visit along with 2 others (In Shreds & Is This The Way – see elsewhere on the blog) and it is a fine amber beer with a white lacy head and had an aroma containing raisin and maybe plum. Full-bodied in the mouth, the flavours that stood out were more subtle raisin and a little plum, followed by a big bitter finish with a good herbal grassyness in the aftertaste. This isn’t a beer that boasts and brags from the rooftops about its IBU score. Just damned tasty. Another excellent beer from these Middleton brewers.

IMAG0398

2. Hello VeloWold Top Brewery (Driffield, E Yorkshire) – 4.2% abv – Pale Ale – £1.98 (500ml) – Yorkshire Ales (Snaith, E Yorkshire)

Picked up this one on my last visit to Yorkshire Ales. If I remember aright, one of Vickys suggestions when I was looking for a final bottle or two to round out my purchase. That visit feels like AGES ago! I was worried, that having held onto it for quite a while, it may have lost some of its sparkle and zest. I needn’t have fretted!

Brewed to commemorate the award of Le Grand Depart for 2014 (the start of Le Tour de France), this beer was ultra pale with the white head being only a shade or two pale than the body! The aroma upon pouring was quite sharp with some lemon and maybe a touch of grapefruit to my mind (not what I would expect of First Gold & Goldings!) Medium-bodied with some initial light sweetness followed by a building bitterness and some more sharp citrus.Not overpowering, but really palate refreshing. A bitter and dry finish being followed by some earthy grassyness in the aftertaste. A nice surprise this, really refreshing. They will be brewing this again in the summer. Appropriate, because this would be a perfect summers day beer, thirst quenching.

IMAG0400

3. Pale (Simcoe, Columbus, Chinook) – Partizan Brewing (Bermondsey, SE London) – 4.7% abv – Pale Ale – £3 (330ml) – The Ale Man (Urban Market, Manchester)

Another beer that had been stashed for some time. And yet another that I needn’t have worried about! A very pale golden beer, lively white head with abundant citrus aromas of passion fruit, grapefruit, some zingy lemon and a hit of pine. Again, medium-bodied with more citrus joy, grapefruit and lemon tartness with a hint of kiwi later on. There is some light malteser sweetness in here, but the hops have the throne in this palace! A really refreshing zippy beer, with a very dry bitter and resinous finish. Easily up there with the best of the London Pale Ales that I’ve had this year!

IMAG0402

4. Fresh – The Wild Beer Company (Evercreech, Somerset) – 5.5% abv – Pale Ale – £2.95 (330ml) – The Liquor Shop (Whitefield, N Manchester)

Wild Beer are a brewery that have crept under my radar a bit. The first beer I can recall having was the coolab (I’ll stick with that spelling!) with Fyne Ales, the ludicrously refreshing Cool As A Cucumber. Last month, I reviewed a bottled I’d had for months (Wildebeest), this is only the second bottle I have had. I want more.

Golden, with a lively foamy white head and an appetising apricot and grapefruit citrus aroma. Tart grapefruit and pine in the mouth, really fresh and refreshingly zingy and tart with citrus. Some bready malt sweetness for balance, but a big bitter and resinous finish with the green stuff lingering. A really refreshing lively beer. Moreish in the extreme for a 5.5% beer. Raj has a few more. I think I’d better treat myself in the New Year!

IMAG0414

5. Chinook (Single Hopped) – Mallinsons Brewery (Huddersfield, West Yorkshire) – 4.1% abv – Pale Ale – £2.29 (500ml) – The Liquor Shop (Whitefield, N Manchester)

Here he goes again…blah blah Mallinsons….blah blah Single hopped Pale Ales….blah blah blah…. Well what can I do? Do you want me to lie and say that they are crap? Well I won’t, so there!

Pale gold with quickly diminished white head. Aroma of peach with a hint of bitter grapefruit. In the mouth, medium bodied and smooth, with the peach and grapefruit, a touch of kiwi and a bitter hit of pine grassyness. That citrus mellows into more of a tangerine as you go further down the glass. The beer has a bitter finish with lingering citrus and pine in the aftertaste. Refreshing bitter and dry. In short, a damned fine Pale Ale. I’ll say it again, I wish I lived in Huddersfield!

IMAG0415

6. HOPFirst Chop Brewing Arm (Salford, Gtr Manchester) – 4.1% abv – Pale Ale – £3 (500ml) – The Ale Man (Urban Market, Spinningfields, Manchester)

Firstly, It was great to see Damian (The Ale Man) inundated with custom on Saturday, even given the somewhat windy conditions. A nice busy spot near the Nat West Bank. I’m pleased, because he’s a decent bloke selling outstandingly good beer (see my mini haul at the top of the page!) and long may this continue!

Anyway, to Mr Garner’s beer! With a name like HOP, I wonder what it’s going to taste like? Pale gold and lively out of the bottle, the white head yielding an immediate grapefruit citrus aroma hit with a little lemony bitterness too. Medium bodied, plenty of hops with a nice balancing hint of sweetness, fruity with grapefruit and lemon tangoing across the tongue with maybe a bit of apricot as it slips down. Plenty of bitterness and a big resinous aftertaste. Superb Salford beer. Hurrah for my hometown! I’ve heard that Rik maybe having an open day at  the brewery on 25th Jan with a bar and all. I’m gate crashing! His beers are simply too good to miss! (I was up in Ramsbottom last week. If you get there, try the First Chop bar. Then thank me!)

Well. That’s more waffle than you’ll get in an Amsterdam Pancake Huis! And for now…..

On that note…’til next time…

Slainte!

*If you listen to the song to the end, the last line that is easily audible is “…as the cigarette catches…and sets off the smoke alarm” then it fades away. However, turn up the volume and you will hear the killer final lines…”What do you make of the cool set in London? You’re constantly updating your hit parade of your ten biggest wanks. She’s a waitress and she’s got style.” All delivered in Stuart Murdoch’s sugar sweet and world-weary tone. Gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

