The Tottering Temple – Blackedge Brewery – 29/03/2014

Tottering Temple

No tunes today (cue collective sigh of relief!) – just a swift post.

In case you haven’t noticed, I like bottled beer. Increasingly, I find myself drawn to beers of a more local persuasion. With a small number of North West breweries stocked at the excellent Liquor Shop in Whitefield and slightly larger number stocked at Bolton’s excellent bar Great Ale Year Round, I still craved breweries from the North West that I hadn’t yet tried. Breweries like the excellent George Wright from Rainford, Prospect of Standish and others too numerous…..

On Saturday, BlackEdge Brewery of Horwich opened a bottle shop of their own, The Tottering Temple. I had been in contact via Twitter on a number of occasions with the brewers and they had a bottle kept by of their hard to find Dark Rum for me to buy. Having had a fairly light evening on the Friday, I spied an opportunity that was simply too good to pass up! So, with my 14 year old chaperone in tow…..no chance for beery mischief…..

Located on Hampson Street off Lee Lane in Horwich, it was easy enough to locate….the sign pointing to The Tottering Temple didn’t hurt either!

IMAG0953

Entering a door which seemed to indicate a small unit, a couple of steps down and the place opened up nicely. Shelves of bottles to the left and right and a bar dead ahead. Typical me, we seemed to be first in!

Ignoring the bar for a moment, which was difficult with 3 beers priced at £2.30 a pint (!), I set to my bottle shelf investigations! Loads of breweries that I hadn’t had before. The shelves were really well laid out and labelled clearly so, if you were searching for something in particular (and they stocked it) you would find it in moments.

IMAG0954

From Bank Top to Thornbridge, most bases covered including some of the newer micros like Squawk. I started to drool when I saw that they had their Stout, which I had heard about but seemed merely a legend, but now glassy fact! That was the first beer to hand and placed on the bar, as Richard, Mr “Adlington Beer Circle” tapped me on the shoulder. We had “conversed” on many occasions on Twitter and – if truth be told – he was one of the major reasons that I post (or try to) at 08:00 on a Saturday morning. He does like a bit of light reading!

We chatted for what seemed like ages, to the extent that I forgot to get both a half of something light and refreshing (and a drink for the “chaperone”!) A quick half of Hop was the choice to slake my conversationally derived thirst! Top bloke Richard. Got to chat with his nephew Tom and passed some tips on Manchester drinking (Tom being at Uni in Mcr and all) Richard is the creator (with techy assistance from Tom!) of an excellent website (link above) which seeks to increase footfall (quite literally!) into a number of local pubs by the creation of a number of walks that link the pubs – a simply brilliant idea in these challenging times! (Don’t think I’ll be setting one up for Farnworth QUITE yet!)

IMAG0955

Had a number of necessarily brief, yet frequent, chats with Wayne & Shaun (the boys behind the brewery) who, through their brewing, are part of the reason why Horwich is gaining a bit of an excellent beery rep. They have a couple of pumps dedicated to their beers at the pub that serves as their “tap”, the award-winning Victoria & Albert on Lee Lane, Bolton CAMRA Branch “Pub of the Year” (popped in recently and I can see why!). BlackEdge brew a number of excellent beers with my personal favourites being the Darks, Black & Black Port (you KNOW what I’m like!).

IMAG0956

 

Wayne & Shaun have got this place well laid out with the 6 Bbl plant (216 gallon) at one end, with some seating and tables for the punters and even a comfy looking leather sofa (I was just TOO slow to grab that!), this was a nice place to come for a lunchtime beer and quite similar to others that I’ve been to. They have made the most of what is a fairly small venue.

Following swift halves of the excellent IPA and even better (well, it’s a dark!) Black Port grabbed whilst further yakking with Richard, I had to gather a stash to take away. Pricing is more than competitive (as I found when I got the bill!) and I was chuffed to pick up beers from George Wright, Prospect, Boggart, Marble, Westerham, Squawk as well as their own Dark Rum and Citra, an excellent and reasonably priced haul. I hadn’t even noticed the sign that mentioned 10% discount for 12 or more bottles, which I MAY have triggered!

This is a cracking shop with a really nice local based selection and “outsiders” like Thornbridge all at decent prices (I’ve got my eye on some Cheshire Brewhouse Govinda – a recent #Beergasm of mine – at £4.20!) and is well worth a look, especially if you shop at the behemoth like Tesco or Asda at Middlebrook (Bolton Reebok Stadium for non-locals). You’ll get FAR better beer here than you will at either of those!

With my 15+ bottle haul, I was being prodded by my “chaperone” who needed to get into Bolton to get a Mothers Day pressie – he’s a sweetie!

On that note….’til next time…

Slainte!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

