My #12BeersOfXmas – Day 4 – Harvest Ale – JW Lees Brewery (Middleton, Manchester) – Strong Ale – 11.5%abv

IMAG2435

A legendary Manchester annual beer that I had never tried. I have friends (OK – One friend. Well, The Arch-Nemesis) who absolutely swears by it, so when I saw bottles at Booths recently, I just HAD to!

A crystal clear deep ruby coloured beer (almost mahogany) with a lasting off white head and a very winey boozy aroma full of caramelised banana, whisky macerated vine fruits, oak, deep caramel and peppery hop. Now to taste the legend.

Unsurprisingly, this is sweet. That is the first thing that hits the tongue. Sweet like juicy raisins soaked in rum. That caramelised banana makes it through as well. This is definitely a post meal dessert beer.

The thing is, this is hugely complex, so much so that my limited vocabulary doesn’t do it justice. I would have said that this kind of beer wasn’t my thing. Strong Barley Wine type beers. Until I drank this.

There are stewed vine fruits, oranges, banana again kind of smothered in a light peaty whisky sauce. Quite a spicy little finish too. This is most certainly not a beer too be trifled with (No pun intended – for a change!) Needless to say, this is hugely warming as it slides down.

I will finish, by saying that if this label had a Stars and Stripes on the front, some of the “Crafterati” (How I wish that I had coined that term!) would be reaching for the post-beergasm kleenex. But it hasn’t. It’s from Middleton, Greater Manchester. So it will stay in the shadows. Go figure.

I’ll just have to reach for mine.

2 comments on “My #12BeersOfXmas – Day 4 – Harvest Ale – JW Lees Brewery (Middleton, Manchester) – Strong Ale – 11.5%abv

  1. There was a bar in Albert Square during the Christmas Markets that was selling bottles of this (and a couple of the wine/spirit cask versions too). I didn’t get any this but my 2013 purchases remain in the cellar. As you say if the was made across the pond (or in any UK railway arch) then it would have a far higher profile than it does.

    Seasons greeting by the way. I hope 2015 brings us another Salford Independent Beer Festival.

    • Same to you John. I believe that, occasionally, a cask rears its head too. Yes, there WILL be an #ISBF2015, planning starts in the new year. 1 more session, slightly more beers, more space. Quite looking forward to the planning!

Leave a Reply

